Bike America

I’m thinking of biking across the country– NYC to LA!  It should take less than 60 days and I plan to camp and/or sleep in motels along the way.  I’m looking at the Transamerica route but its hard to tell if that is the best option to make the most of the trip.  I am considering attempting to make my own route. Anyways, I would love to hear from anyone that has experience biking across the U.S. or knows of some good routes. Oh, and did I mention I’m planning to do the whole ride on a fixed gear bike!CitySpoke Leave your stories or ideas in the comments section below!

I also thought this quote from Ernest Hemingway was both fitting and rather inspiring for the trip.

“It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” Ernest Hemingway

One response to “Bike America

  1. Don’t know the months you plan on this, but the southern route is far more interesting than straight through the middle but it is longer!

Leave a Reply

